The Limit I Didn’t Even Know I Had

It was stupid of me to think I’d be able to handle anything you dump on me. I wanted to be a reliable friend to you and offer you advice whenever you need it. You’ve got quite a lot of problems and, as your best friend, I thought it was my responsibility to listen and to make sure you’re alright. That’s what best friends are for, right?

But it just gets more and more difficult every time. We just keep going round and round with your problems. I know how hard it is to be stubborn because I’m stubborn af, but it gets tiring. I’m sorry, I really am, but I’m tired.

I’m a weak person. I can’t even help you deal with the problems you’ve dumped on me. I’m weak, I know that, but no one can judge me for it or force anything more on me. No one has the right to do that. I’m the only one who can say what I can and can’t do. And this is me at my limit.

And it’s draining me. You’re draining me. Everything’s draining me and I’m the only one affected by it and it drives me mad. I want to help you, but it has reached the point where I have to take a few steps away from you to save myself because it has become so toxic.

I’m sorry but I just need some time away. I just need a break from you. I’m sorry for failing as a friend at the moment. I don’t know if I’d be able to make it up to you someday, but right now, I’m doing this for me. I’m annoyed and tired and mad and stressed and right now, I have nothing good to say to you. I don’t need more problems than I already have right now. All this negativity is tiring me out.

Sorry.

 

(NOTE: Just so we’re clear, this isn’t anything romantic or sht. I don’t have a boyfriend or anyone remotely close to that. I don’t need anyone like that right now. This is just me apologizing to one of my best friends because I can’t handle being the reliable and trustworthy friend right now.)

Leave a Reply

