Picking Yourself Up

Life can seem really shitty, even to the point where we just want to give up and cry at some corner. But, everything is temporary and no matter how bad it may look right now, it will pass. You might not believe me now, but trust me when I say that you will overcome whatever you’re going through someday and everything’s going to be alright.

I’d say that because of those shitty moments,  we appreciate the happy moments and life more, right? Also, we learn more, grow more, and gain more experience after going through challenges. I guess those kinds of moments aren’t all that bad.

Personally, I let myself have a little vacation after undergoing such a stressful time (for example, FINALS WEEK). I just let it all go and relax. Honestly, I’m such a mess during those times. I barely give a damn about anything other than enjoying myself (through anime, movies, etc.), sleeping, and eating. I also have cheat weeks where I stop my GM Diet and eat normal stuff.

Then after that period, I have the period which I would like to call “getting my shit together” period where I pick myself up and work again towards who I want to be- a strong and independent woman who knows what she wants to achieve and does everything to get it. I’m a long way to go from that dream, but I guess by taking one step at a time, it’s possible.

What do I do during that period? Well, first of all, I clean up. I can’t work in such a messy place. I list down everything I need to do and plan it all out. I make a realistic execution plan, a one with breaks in between studying and being productive. I try my best to make time for everything important to me, not only academics but also friends, family, and myself.

Really, when you’re down and nothing seems to be okay, I suggest you stop whatever you’re doing, take a deep breath, take a break if you have to, then pick yourself up. In reality, there’s no one who can truly pick you up from the dust but you. Other people can only do so much and they have their own selves to pick up. This is something you have to do for yourself and, trust me, you’re going to be stronger and more independent this way.

My point is that it’s completely alright and normal for you to just let go and relax sometimes because too much stress and depression and loneliness can make anyone explode. But, after that, you have to pick yourself up and remind yourself why you’re doing what you’re doing in the first place. Don’t give up because every day is a new day and take it for everything that it is- new, beautiful, and terrifying. Embrace the fear and take charge of your life!

I hope all of you are enjoying the holidays!

(Note: Hooray for Christmas break! Personally, my “getting my shit together” period starts tomorrow. Cheers to all of you, mates!

Oh, and the featured image is from Google. It just makes so much sense!)

LIVE. LAUGH. LOVE

 

 

Leave a Reply

