Giving > Receiving

Sometimes, I look back at the times when I was a kid getting all those presents and being the center of attention of family gatherings. To be honest, I don’t really remember that much about how Christmas went when I was a child, but I do remember receiving gifts from Santa every year and getting together with relatives I don’t see that often. I remember taking all those family pictures together, playing with my cousins and eating delicious holiday meals with them, too.

It’s kind of funny reminiscing about those things because a lot has changed now and life just goes on. It’s like someday, this Christmas, the previous one, and the next one will be nothing but memories captured by pictures. All the more reason to cherish the holidays, right?

Life, despite shitty times, is really beautiful. And, growing up, I’ve discovered yet another beautiful thing in life- the happiness you experience after making someone else happy. Personally, it makes me think “Damn, I’ve done something pretty great with my life” and I just feel really awesome seeing people happy. Though I must admit, I don’t really know what to say when they thank me because the gift-giving wasn’t really one-sided because they made me happy, too.

Normally, most of us are really busy to enjoy life and the people around us, so this holiday season’s the perfect time to treasure everything- our family, friends, the people who’ve helped us in our everyday lives, and so much more. Really, there’s a lot we should be thankful for. It’s the time to take a break from our usual busy lives and appreciate our life and everything in it.

I guess that’s another reason why I love giving gifts- to show people that I appreciate them, that I am really grateful that they’re in my life. Personally, I believe that presents could be given in more ways one. Spending your time with someone and really giving them time is something really special.

And, when you feel really blessed with everything, it just makes you want to share them with other people, even the ones you don’t really know. It’s not just sharing stuff, it’s also sharing happiness and that’s just amazing.

My point is that you should take this season for everything it is! Take this opportunity to show your love and appreciation to the people around you-to your family, friends, special someone, and the like, through many ways. Reflect upon life and thank God for everything he’s blessed you with (applies to all religions). And also, share the love to those who you might not know so well because giving away happiness is one of the best things in life.

Happy holidays!

 

(Note: I know it’s a bit too early, but I just felt like sharing how I felt. I just don’t want to see people take this season for granted. Love life!

And this should be one of the many posts I’ll be writing this month because I’ll be taking my Christmas break really soon! Yay!

Oh, and the featured image is something I made myself, for once haha. I kinda wanted to convey a message through it, but that’s what I ended up with. I hope you still like it though.)

 

LIVE. LAUGH. LOVE

One thought on “Giving > Receiving

  1. Pingback: Christmas in Our Hearts | The Girl With The Pen

Leave a Reply

