Stop and Stare

Take a good look at the world that we are currently living in. Take a moment of your time to read or listen to the news and see how the people of this world are treating each other and how they treat the Earth, the environment. Ignorance is bliss and, with ignorance, we are unable to come to realization that this world is definitely in a fucked up state right now and if we don’t do something about it, it’s going to continue being that way.

Don’t think that this doesn’t concern you, that it’s not you who should be taking action but the government and the people who are of influence, wealth, and power. You can look away from the horrible realities of this world as long as you’d like, but that in itself it’s a foolish act.

Honestly, I am a fool for not knowing about these kinds of things until recently. I am a fool for only thinking about myself and, at most, about the people around me. I am a fool for thinking that I can give to those who need help without actually having to sacrifice anything. There are people who are starving and dying and being murdered right now while I sit in the luxury of my own home typing this post.

What can we do about this fucked up world that we live in? What can I, a person among 7 billion others, do to make our home less fucked up? Well personally, I’d suggest that you start with no other than yourself. Be the kind of person that could contribute to society. Be the kind of person that could influence others to follow his lead. Be the kind of person that genuinely wants to make the world a better place for us to live in.

How exactly do I do that? Change. Change is what we need and to be able to do just that, we must work on ourselves first. Okay, reflect upon yourself right now. You’re a human being. You have your own strengths and weaknesses. You are capable of love and hatred. And you can decide your own fate. Sure, there are circumstances and factors that affect our decisions and what we do and say in life, but in the end, it’s your life.

So, I beg you to choose what you think is right. Choose to do what you think is for the common good. Whatever beliefs, religion, social status, gender, and race, people deserve to live and to be treated properly. You have got to ask yourself why people must judge other people not for who they are but for what the look like, from where they come from, and from what they believe in.

In order to kill your ignorance, to realize things, and to take action, you must open your eyes and see the world for what it really is. But wait, don’t go around making conclusions yet, consider all possible views and the details about why it’s like this. Rather than fighting and debating about how you’re right, prove that you’re right through peaceful means, through love.

Love is the answer, not hatred. Hatred will only cause more hatred. Hatred kills and hatred will someday just kill the world. Love, on the other hand, creates. It creates understanding and caring among people. Love builds nations and connects people. Change that is caused by love is what we need.

Spread the love. You can do exactly this through various ways, from simple ways such as smiling at strangers on the streets (not in a weird and creepy way though) and giving away your extra clothes and food to those in need to bigger ways such as going on outreaches, doing charity work, and influencing other people to do the same.

Who am I to tell you what to do, right? I’m nothing but an amateur writer who puts personal thoughts and feelings about a matter out there. I haven’t proven myself through any way either and I’m still working on myself, as well. But I’m done with hate. I’m done seeing people die and starve, be deprived of education and sleep on the streets. This might just be a little thing that may be overlooked and ignored, but I don’t believe that little things should be underestimated. There is an impact in everything we do and I can only hope that I’ve caused a positive impact through this.

(Note: I’m sorry. I know this post might be all over the place, but I hope I got my point across. I want you consider what I’ve written and do what you think should be done. And I apologize if I’ve offended you in any way. I respect your beliefs, so I ask you to respect mine.)

 

LIVE. LAUGH. LOVE

4 thoughts on “Stop and Stare

  1. The best thing we can do is to do our job (or our future jobs) the right way with the much necessary work ethic.

    A big problem in this world, is the people who works on the companys, the big companys specially, they don’t respect nature or animals or anything, really. I mean, I don’t doubt there’s people out there who are kind and try to do the right thing but the system sucks.

    Also the media generally speaking, they don’t always report the struggles the people who have the unfortunate reality of not being healthy or wealthy enough are going trhough.. we must do our part and be kind to everyone and do all the things with a good work ethic. Not sure i’ve speaked what i wanted the right way, but people definitely need to take a deep look at themselves.. we need to believe the world will get better because change starts with positive thoughts transformed into action..

    • I agree. We are the future of this world and if we want to see it change, we must first change ourselves into the kind of people that the world needs. I’m really sad and feel really alarmed about what’s happening now. We must not stick to the status quo and the flawed system. We really need to realize that there are people who are starving and dying on the streets and everything effed up about this world. Everyone counts and if everyone changes, I think love and the beauty of this world could prevail.

      Thanks for sharing your insights with me! Have a wonderful day! 🙂

      ~The Girl With The Pen

  2. I just remembered about this blog after a long time barely entering the internet generally, a pleasure to notice the owner of this blog is still delivering masterpieces, I remember this blog helped me go trhough some bad times and i definitely will read older posts and try to keep up with new ones.

    • You know what? You just made my day a bit brighter and I am grateful to you. Besides my own initiative, these types of comments keep me going and make me continue writing. While writing posts, I can only hope that I’m somehow helping someone out there and I’m glad that I have. I still have a long way to go before being able to compose masterpieces though, but thank you.

      I hope you find more posts that help you in life. I hope I can write more posts that help do just that.

      Again, enjoy your day! 🙂

      ~The Girl With The Pen

Leave a Reply

