Playing Cards

(Note: This post is mostly about my current crush, but I’m pretty sure you’ll pick up a lesson or two by reading this.)

Before, I wasn’t really the type of person that believes in “timing”. I usually chose just to jump for the things I’ve been over thinking quite a bit because if I kept on just thinking about them, I wouldn’t be able to take action. Those things usually compose of crazy stuff like asking someone I’m not really close to for a favor because I really need his participation on something, calling out a certain someone to give him the gift I picked out for him, confessing to someone I hardly really know, and the like. Yes, I am that sort of person that does (somewhat) stupid things like that and I don’t really regret doing them; I just realized that timing does matter and one has to play his cards right in order to win the game.

If you’ve played a game or two of cards, you’d know that strategically choosing the cards you play is very essential to winning the game. You might have great cards, but if you don’t use them properly, you might still end up losing. And there are times when you think you’ve got the worst cards possible, but as long as you know when to make use of them, you could still win.

It’s not that I’m comparing love to a mere game of cards, but really thinking about it, they do have their similarities. One decision leads to another one and each decision one makes affects the whole thing, controlling your fate in winning or losing. There are a lot of factors that could affect both, but of course, timing is a crucial factor. And, this time, I really don’t want to mess anything up.I don’t want to lose just because I didn’t properly use my cards at the right time.

But, then again, when is the perfect timing for these kind of things? I guess I could say that the perfect timing for these things, really, is when I’m older and more knowledgeable about life and such. Right now, I’m still really young, innocent, and inexperienced with things. There really is no need to rush with these kind of things. I’d say that what pressures youth to grow up and decide important decisions about relationships in such a young age is society and the peer pressure around them.

You have never had a boyfriend/girlfriend? It’s perfectly fine. You’re in a relationship? I’m very happy for you, two. I hope you’re happy together, too. Really, people should just stick with what they’re happy and comfortable with. If you feel like having a boyfriend/girlfriend just to catch up with everyone, then whatever relationship you’ll form with that kind of thinking is a really temporary one. Relationships and commitments are supposed to have love as the foundation, not some standards that society had set for us. When you’re with someone, you should be happy being together with that special person, not feeling like it’s an obligatory thing. And, personally, I think you should be able to imagine a future with that person if you’re really serious about them. I mean, if you really love and care for that person, why wouldn’t you want to be with them for the rest of your life?

I don’t really want to assume anything, at the moment. I mean, it’s really nice to be able to see and actually talk to him, especially when it seems like I’m not the only one who wants to keep it alive. I still have so much I want to know about him, so much to tell him, and so much to figure out. He’s not that perfect guy that I always thought he was, but knowing him better makes me actually like him more. I really don’t want to mess this up.

Oh gods, I hope I made this post ambiguous enough. Oh well. Sayonara~

LIVE. LAUGH. LOVE

One thought on “Playing Cards

Leave a Reply

