The Future & Uncertainties

*Note: I’m really happy right now after reading all the comments in my previous post “Fairytales & Love Stories”, so I sincerely thank the three people who commented in that post. It truly means a lot to me.*

When we’re born into this life, we don’t receive a handbook or a guide on who we’re going to be. Yes, there will be several expectations from our family, friends, and other people, but no one can really say what life has in store for us. During this lifetime, we attempt to figure out things, like what we want to do, where we want to go, how we’re going to act, and so on and so forth. And finding who we are isn’t all that easy because we are changing little by little everyday. Most of the time, we don’t notice, but when we look back, we can say that “Oh wow, I’m not the person I used to be.”, “The me back then wouldn’t have done half the stuff I do now.” , or something like that. Personally, simply reading my posts in this blog makes me realize how much I’ve changed.

Now, I know most of the human beings in this world don’t really plan their life. They could know what they’d be doing tomorrow, next week, next month, or next year, but they don’t plan for what they’d be doing 10-20 years from now. That’s perfectly normal, but in my case, I’ve already dreamed what my life would be like about 20-25 years from when I was in sixth grade. I knew the high school I wanted to go to, the college I wanted to attend, the job I wanted to have, the house I wanted to live in, the kids I wanted to be a mother to, and the like. It’s really quite much for a girl who hasn’t even graduated elementary to think about, but, through the years, it has somehow helped me become more determined to not give up and constantly do my best.

But what if does dreams end up broken and unfulfilled? Where would you be then? When I was younger, I didn’t have a single doubt in my system that I wasn’t going to be able to achieve any of my dreams. But, now, I know that that’s just how life works. You win some, you lose some. No one can get everything he desires, even with all the money and treasures of this Earth (but who the heck has all of that?!). Just think that whatever that was isn’t for you, and (apologies to those who have different religions, agnostic, or atheist) God has a better plan for you. Don’t give up in life because of one measly failure, rejection, or mistake. It’s absolutely alright to cry about it, but when you’re done crying about it, you have to pick yourself up and keep doing your best. As people say “When one door closes, two more open.” or something like that (I’m not quite sure if I quoted it right).

The point is that the future is full of uncertainty. Of course right now we could romanticize the future all we want; thinking that our tomorrow is filled with so much happiness and such. But the truth still remains that our life will be composed of both good and bad days until we die. We can only plan our life to a certain level and at times things don’t work out the way we want it to. Know that, if you gave it you’re all, that’s something to be proud of and content with. It just means it’s not meant for you, but there are things that are meant for you and if you continue working hard, you’ll get there. And you’re not alone, so talking to people about what you’re going through isn’t that bad. Remember, crying is definitely not a sign of weakness, rather a sign that you put your heart and mind into something. Oh, and screw other people’s expectations. This is your life and you only live it once, so don’t let anyone else tell you what to do, how to act, etc. In writing terms, don’t let anyone else hold the pen because you’re the author of your own story.

LIVE. LAUGH. LOVE

One thought on “The Future & Uncertainties

Leave a Reply

