Greatest Goal in Life

I’m sure all of us have our own personal list of the things we want to achieve before we die, whether it’s related to academics, friends, family, finance, romantic relationships, and what not. And maybe we’ve reached a few of them, which feels totally awesome, like all the hard work and effort that you had put into it was absolutely worth it.

Wait, what do you mean by “I haven’t achieved anything at all yet”? Let me just tell you that maybe you haven’t achieved the big ones so far, but I am 100% sure that you’re on the way and that you’ve passed a few milestones already. Remember, you can’t reach a mountain without climbing inch by inch from the bottom. Same goes for good grades; If every petty recitation, seatwork, and homework counts, how much more would tests count? You might not be realizing it, but if you’re really trying your hardest, you’re already doing it, you’re already on the right way towards your goal.

Honestly, I personally have a list of goals to keep me from losing track of what I want and what kind of person I want to be. How can one know what he wants to go without a map? And even with that list, I get sidetracked with such trivial things most of the time, like crushes and stuff (HA! Good thing I don’t have one now). I sound like a terribly grade conscious person, but unlike other people, I’m easily distracted and I don’t think I’m naturally smart. I have poor memory and I have a naturally lazy personality. If I don’t attempt to fight for it, I wouldn’t have gone this far.

Yes, yes, most of my goals are related to academics. It can’t be helped. It’s one of the most important things to me, besides family and friends. When I was younger, I didn’t mind my grades at all. Basically, I went to school to play with my classmates. Then, I was awarded “Outstanding” after 4th grade, which changed everything. I actually wrote down all the stuff I wanted to achieve and I made it happen. It sounds easy when I say it like that and when I look back to it now, but I’m sure that younger me had a rather difficult time. That’s how goals work; It makes you do challenging stuff that eventually gets you there, to where you want to be.

That being said, my greatest goal in life is to be able to die with knowing that I had helped people at the best of my ability during my lifetime, or maybe even after. In reality, we were born, we live, and we will die. All human beings go through this so what makes you and I different? Well, it’s what we do during that short middle period, that dash (-) between the date of our birth and the date of our death. And I don’t want to die knowing I haven’t done enough for the people around me, for the world that I had lived in.

While I am writing this very post, babies are being born and people are dying. I don’t know when, where, and how I’m going to pass away. I’m not even sure if I want a slow and painful death because it would cause my family too much hurt and money. If I do die that way, I think that I’d refuse treatment and live the days I will have left helping people by donating stuff and the like and bonding with my family. I don’t need to live a long life to be happy with it. Some people live more in 20 years than some live in 60. Point is, I don’t need to live until I’m 100 years old; I just need to live until I know that I have done everything in my power to help people and maybe have a family of my own.

I am still unsure of how to make this happen, but I am definite that this is what I need to do, what I want to do with my life. It’s easy to think and talk big about this kind of stuff, but I don’t want to just think and talk big about this, rather I want to see to it, I want to make it happen.

LIVE. LAUGH. LOVE

One thought on “Greatest Goal in Life

Leave a Reply

