Nothing’s Wrong With Me

Did you know that there are actually a lot of full movies in youtube? It’s quite fun to watch movies for free during my abundant spare time. I’ve seen some Disney films and other amazing movies (i.e. Beauty with the Briefcase, Bring it on 2, etc). I have also been watching some of the vlogbrother’s (John and Hank Green) videos which are a lot interesting. Nigahiga and Ellen are my two stops for ROFL moments. And in case you’re thinking that I’m advertising youtube, I’m not. I just genuinely love their videos.

So, back to my point? What was my point? kidding. Just a while back, I finished watching “Radio Rebel”, an amazingly wonderful and inspiring movie made my Disney. It’s about a girl that doesn’t have the courage to speak up, so she conceals herself in the identity of this secret radio DJ. People love her not only for her great taste in music but also because she serves as the voice of the students. In the end, she learns how to actually communicate with people, reveals herself as radio rebel, and stands up for who she is.

I’m sort of that girl, to be honest, except I can’t run a radio show, so I run a blog. And the fact that Debbie Ryan is beautiful, talented, and overall, awesome, while I’m the girl that is normal? What is normal? Scratch that part about me being normal because normality of overrated. I’m the girl that’s really different, well at least, I myself think that. I like sleeping late, staying in my pajamas (their comfy), in love with a dead fictional character (I still love you, Augustus) and have no taste in fashion (I’d go with t-shirt and jeans anytime).

And that’s not even 1/10 of my personality. But this post isn’t really about me, rather it’s about all of us. I know there are people out there who think that they’re lesser than other people, think their totally pathetic, hate themselves, and think that they need to “fit in”. If you’re one of those people, let me tell you this, what you’re thinking is utterly and undoubtedly WRONG.

First of all, everyone are human beings, meaning, we’re all equally unique and different from each other, but, just the same, go through the many hardships in life. There may be some popular people in your school or whatever but, there is no boundaries of ranks in this world. We’re all gonna die anyways, right? Maybe, they’re just popular because they’re them, and you don’t need to be them to gain fame or the like, just be yourself.

Secondly, you shouldn’t be harsh to yourself. I know I could think very pessimistically about myself, but the truth is, it’s not gonna help you. I don’t think calling yourself a “loser” can particularly boost your self-esteem, it only lowers it. How do you expect people to accept you if you don’t even accept yourself? Screw those comments you throw at yourself and replace it by saying “I’m beautiful” in front of the mirror every morning. Confidence is one of the keys to success.

“Fitting in” sucks. Break through “normality” and be different. I mean, why fit in if you can stand out? Be proud of being yourself rather than following someone else’s footsteps. Don’t let society change you, rather, change society. The so-called “status quo” isn’t real. People can hang out with any other people. It was never set to be a boundary nor tall walls to keep out people not part of the group. I think it was just an intangible object that was made because people have different likes and dislikes, but if you like other things that other people like too, don’t be afraid to shatter the status quo.

You’re reading this from the girl that couldn’t even talk inside the bus, yeah, but I want to gather the guts to speak out and be myself. I know change can’t hurt and that life is a journey about finding who you are, but don’t lose yourself from all the change. You should still have a strong foundation of who you are.

Physical appearance is just a part of who you are. Don’t let it define you. I’ve seen people with disabilities, obesity, and the like, doing extraordinary things. Show people that you’re better than that. Prove to them that they’ve misjudged you the whole time and that you’re something a whole lot more.

Promise me you’ll always remember: You’re braver than you believe, and stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.

Leave a Reply

