Happily Never After

Image

I read this (kind of) amazing story about a girl that wants a fairy tale-like life and, after some twists and turns here and there, gets it in the end. Her “perfect” boyfriend turns out to be a real jerk dumps her because she’s not what he expects her to be.  She was a mess. Then, this “rock star” enters her life and makes her cool again.

I guess life could be compared to a fairy tale at times. It doesn’t let you plan it most of the time, but in the end with enough hard work and perseverance, you get your happily ever after. You may think someone could be your prince charming, but he just might be the wicked stepmother in disguise.

I was a little absorbed in the book (was reading it during this “Carol Fest” thing) and it was quite annoying? The hero, Ellie, falls and keeps falling for her jerk-ish boyfriend even if a sweet bad boy named Lucas fancies her. WHO DOES THAT?!?! I wanted to murder her for doing that to Lucas. But, in the end, it all worked out just right (IT SHOULD!).

I somehow want my life to be like a fairy tale. Someday, I want to meet my prince charming and live happily ever after forever. But, life’s a.. um.. not that nice? So, I’m not expecting it to be handed to be in a silver platter. I expect it to be on the other side of an obstacle-filled life.

“That I’m not a princess, this ain’t a fairytale

I’m not the one you’ll sweep off her feet

Lead her up the stairwell

This ain’t Hollywood, this is a small town

I was a dreamer before you went and let me down

Now it’s too late for you and your white horse to come around”

-Taylor Swift, White Horse

Leave a Reply

